New website is in test mode

UN Global Compact Russia

Events

COVID-19. #UnitingBusiness

10

Unprecedented, unprecedented, rare, global, affecting everyone on the planet and changing the future - the crisis due to the coronavirus pandemic has become the main challenge for everyone, without exception. And one way or another, everyone responds to it: every person, all governments, the world private sector. The UN Global Compact accumulates opportunities to support responsible corporate action in response to a pandemic, offering businesses different tools to help collectively reflect on the magnitude of change and its consequences.


What will the world look like after COVID-19?

Liz Kingo, director of the UN GC, in an interview for the GreenBiz website on April 10, 2020, offers his observations and forecasts on this subject, calling COVID-19 a fire drill for future global challenges, which very sharply showed how much we are all interconnected and how defenseless - without solidarity, understanding of the real danger and collective actions - in the face of global problems. Will this experience be a lesson that will teach us to look differently at other challenges (climatic, humanitarian, etc.) and be prepared for an emergency response to them? But there is no other way out - otherwise everyone will lose.

The COVID-19 pandemic has already brought us important knowledge about the human community: the health and well-being of one person in the modern world often (or more often) does not depend on him, but on another person, on the health of society, states and their economies. Encouraging examples of mutual assistance (neighborly, corporate, interstate). The private sector has allocated record funds to meet the humanitarian needs of the pandemic, businesses are coordinating with local and national officials to support government initiatives and find ways to support society even when governments do not fulfill basic responsibilities to their citizens.

But COVID-19 also showed how vulnerable the weakest groups are, which are often forgotten and cannot stand up for. The ILO estimates that as a result of the crisis, up to 25 million jobs worldwide could be lost. Women carry additional risks and suffer much more from domestic violence.

The COVID-19 pandemic swept the world in the year of the 75th anniversary of the UN, which was founded after two devastating world wars with the understanding that to save the future generations from the atrocities of war, to protect the dignity and worth of every person, countries must unite in multilateral cooperation. This symbolically reminds us that we, the human community, can together create a new and better world based on shared values ​​and principles.

#UnitingBusiness

The UN Global Compact addresses all companies with a special appeal #UnitingBusiness to respond to COVID-19. This is a call to take collective action to stop the outbreak of coronavirus, and team up to facilitate rapid recovery through the implementation of the ten principles of the UNGC.

CEOs Taking Action

The Global Compact invites top executives of companies to share their experiences, share tips with the global business community on how to deal with the pandemic, by recording their own video message via UN GC website.


Engage Online via the Academy

Get involved online through the UN GC Academy, which offers a new series of high-level webinars. Top management from both the private and public sectors is participating to discuss urgent and upcoming challenges in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. Global webinars explore topics such as human rights, labor relations, the financial implications of a pandemic, and others. Watch Academy special webinars and register for upcoming sessions.


Join in and explore other recent DG posts and news in the April issue of his newsletter.



Articles & Interviews

António Guterres. UN must lead ‘surge in diplomacy’

Elena Feoktistova. Farther away from the brink

Diplomat in swimming costume. Icy reception by Lewis Pugh

Ivana Modena. Sustainable development is a holistic way of life.

Новый сайт работает в тестовом режиме

Национальная сеть Глобального договора ООН в России

События

COVID-19. #UnitingBusiness

101

Беспрецедентный, невиданный, редчайший, глобальный, касающийся каждого на планете и меняющий будущее – кризис вследствие пандемии коронавируса стал главным вызовом для всех, без исключения и без цензов. И откликаются на него, так или иначе, также все: каждый человек, все правительства, мировой частный сектор. Глобальный договор ООН аккумулирует возможности поддержки ответственных корпоративных действий в условиях отклика на пандемию, предлагая бизнесу разные инструменты содействия в коллективном осмыслении масштабов перемен и их последствий.


Как будет выглядеть мир после COVID-19?

Лиз Кинго, директор ГД ООН, в интервью для сайта GreenBiz 10 апреля 2020 года, предлагает свои наблюдения и прогнозы на этот счет, называя COVID-19 пожарным учением будущих глобальных вызовов, которое очень резко показало, как и насколько мы все взаимосвязаны и как беззащитны – без солидарности, понимания реальной опасности и коллективных действий – перед лицом глобальных проблем. Станет ли этот опыт уроком, который научит нас иначе смотреть на другие вызовы (климатические, гуманитарные и др.) и быть готовыми к чрезвычайному реагированию на них? Но другого выхода и нет – иначе проиграют все.

Пандемия COVID-19 уже принесла нам важные знания о человеческом сообществе: здоровье и благополучие одного человека в современном мире часто (или чаще) зависят не от него самого, а от другого человека, от здоровья общества, государств и их экономик. Обнадеживают примеры взаимопомощи (соседской, корпоративной, межгосударственной). Частный сектор выделил рекордные средства для удовлетворения гуманитарных потребностей, вызванных пандемией, деловые круги координируют свои действия с местными и национальными должностными лицами для поддержки правительственных инициатив и находят способы поддержки общества даже в тех случаях, когда правительства не выполняют основные обязанности перед своими гражданами.

Но COVID-19 также продемонстрировал, как уязвимы самые слабые группы, о которых часто забывают и которые не могу постоять за себя. По оценкам МОТ, в результате кризиса может быть потеряно до 25 миллионов рабочих мест во всем мире. Женщины несут дополнительные риски и гораздо больше страдают от домашнего насилия.

Пандемия COVID-19 охватила мир в год 75-летия ООН, которая была основана после двух разрушительных мировых войн с пониманием того, что для спасения будущих поколений от зверств войны, для защиты достоинства и ценности каждого человека страны должны объединиться в многостороннем сотрудничестве. Это символично напоминает нам о том, что мы, человеческое сообщество, можем вместе создать новый и лучший мир на основе общих ценностей и принципов. 


#UnitingBusiness

Глобальный договор ООН обращается ко всем компаниям со специальным призывом #UnitingBusiness для реагирования на COVID-19. Это призыв предпринимать коллективные действия, чтобы остановить вспышку коронавируса, и объединяться, чтобы способствовать быстрому восстановлению посредством реализации десяти принципов ГД ООН. 


CEOs Taking Action

Глобальный договор приглашает первых лиц компаний рассказывать о своем опыте, делиться советами с глобальным бизнес-сообществом о том, как бороться с пандемией, записав свое собственное видеообращение сайте ГД ООН.


Engage Online via the Academy

Будьте вовлеченными онлайн посредством Академии ГД ООН, которая предлагает новый цикл вебинаров высокого уровня. В них принимают участие высшее руководство как частного, так и государственного секторов, чтобы обсуждать неотложные и предстоящие задачи в контексте пандемии COVID-19. Глобальные вебинары исследуют такие темы, как права человека, поддержка трудовых отношений, финансовые последствия пандемии и друге. Смотрите специальные вебинары Академии и регистрируйтесь на предстоящие сессии.


Присоединяйтесь и изучите другие последние сообщения и новости ГД ООН в апрельском выпуске его бюллетеня.


Статьи и интервью

Елена Феоктистова. Все дальше от края пропасти

Дипломат в плавках. Ледяной прием Льиса Пью

Фазиль Искандер. Экономика без совести — это зверинец с открытыми клетками

Йоахим Клекнер. Философия осознанного потребления