New website is in test mode

UN Global Compact Russia

The UN Global Compact

About Global Compact

UN Global Compact (UN GC) – the world`s largest corporate sustainability initiative, a call to companies to allign strategies and operations with universal principles on human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption, an attempt to mobilize a global movement of sustainable companies and stakeholders.

UN Global Compact includes more than 13,000 participants from 160 countries and more than 80 national networks.

UN GC framework – the ten principles in the areas of human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption - 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Agenda 2030.

UNGC Participants affirm their commitment to UNGC Principles and SDGs, take responsibility to adjust business-models by changing commercial strategies in favor of more fair, ecological, and inclusive development of economy, territories, society and planet.

Global Compact creation –is a manifestation of a new sustainable development concept, which has become a response to the fact that human economic activity exceeded anthropogenic limits of the planet and biosphere; human economy is not in line with laws of nature, and priority to profit has led to economy unfair and inefficient from the long-term development point of view.

Then UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan in an address to the World Economic Forum on 31 January 1999: “I propose that you, the business leaders gathered in Davos, and we, the United Nations, initiate a global compact of shared values and principles, which will give a human face to the global market.”

Global Compact reflected new responsible approach to the role of business in achieving common well-being, a model of cooperation between UN/governments/society and business not used previously, establishment of corporate citizenship and corporate sustainability values

Corporate sustainability came to be interpreted as a business approach that creates long-term shareholder value by embracing opportunities and managing risks deriving from economic, environmental and social developments. Today integrating UNGC principles into a corporate system and public affirmation of their enforcement are widely recognized indicators of responsible business practice and a reputation for integrity, necessary to enter the international level of activities and partnership.

To celebrate the UN Global Compact’s 15th anniversary, which motto was ‘Business as a Force for Good’, DNV GL agency did research to demonstrate positive changes provoked by the Global Compact, and which place it has in the story of modern movement for corporate sustainability.

The Global Compact’s most significant impacts in changing corporate practices have been:

– A unifying framework. To establish a unifying framework for sustainable, ethical business through a set of principles that are universally accepted by business, governments, labour organizations and civil society.
– Spreading to new markets. To mobilize thousands of businesses to embark on the sustainability journey, including a significant proportion of the world’s largest companies.
– Wide range of topic on the corporate agenda. To help legitimize a wider range of sustainability topics on the corporate agenda, and turning attention towards issues including human rights, bribery and corruption.
– Expanding the boundaries of business. By helping to expand the boundaries of responsibility, companies are now starting to take a broader responsibility for their impacts along the value chain
– Fostering cross-sector collaboration. To create a common space for dialogue, learning and collaboration between business and stakeholders at the highest level, including from government, in a way that no other organization has ever achieved.
– Raising the bar on performance. In some areas, by producing ground-breaking best practice resources, the Global Compact has helped push the sustainability agenda forward and raising the bar for corporate performance and practices.
– From global values to local priorities. Advancing a set of global values reflected in the ten principles. Through the Local Networks, the principles are applied to local challenges, priorities and opportunities.

Global Compact has become an incubator of ideas and a pioneer in the areas wh ere we speak about business sustainability, widening the concept of its responsibility and distributing these ideas in a global scale. Global Compact has played an important role in changing modern business strategies, and this role will only be strengthening in the future.

Benefits
Joining the Global Compact Network Russia – the Association “National Network of the Global Compact” – opens for the UN Global Compact participants additional opportunities – those mentioned above and stated below.

Новый сайт работает в тестовом режиме

Национальная сеть Глобального договора ООН в России

Глобальный договор ООН

О Глобальном договоре

Глобальный договор Организации Объединенных Наций (ГД ООН) – международная инициатива ООН для бизнеса в сфере корпоративной социальной ответственности и устойчивого развития, призыв ООН трансформировать бизнес в пользу общества, природы и будущего планеты, попытка ООН мобилизовать глобальное движение ответственных компаний-лидеров.

Глобальный договор ООН объединяет более 13 000 участников из почти 160 стран мира и более 80 национальных сетей.

Основа деятельности ГД ООН – международно признанные принципы в сфере прав человека, трудовых отношений, окружающей среды и противодействия коррупции – широкая повестка Целей устойчивого развития (ЦУР) до 2030 года.

Участники ГД ООН подтверждают приверженность принципам ГД ООН и ЦУР – берут на себя обязательства корректировать свои бизнес-модели, изменяя свои коммерческие стратегии в пользу долгосрочной устойчивости, в интересах более справедливого, экологичного, инклюзивного развития экономики, территорий, общества, планеты в целом.

Создание Глобального договора – одно из проявлений формирования новой концепции устойчивого развития, которая была реакцией общества на то, что хозяйственная деятельность человека превысила антропогенные пределы планеты и биосферы, экономика человека не согласована с законами природы, а приоритет прибыли привел к формированию несправедливой и неэффективной с точки зрения долгосрочного развития экономики.

Генеральный секретарь ООН Кофи Аннан на Международном экономическом форуме в 1999 году: «Я предлагаю вам, лидерам делового мира, собравшимся в Давосе, и нам, Организации Объединенных Наций, инициировать глобальный договор о наших общих ценностях и принципах, что позволит дать мировому рынку человеческое лицо».

Глобальный договор отразил новый ответственный подход к роли бизнеса в достижении всеобщего благополучия, не применяемую ранее модель сотрудничества между ООН / правительствами / обществом и бизнесом и формирование ценностей корпоративного гражданства и корпоративной устойчивости.

Корпоративная устойчивость стала пониматься как создание компанией долгосрочной ценности в финансовом, экологическом, социальном и этическом отношениях. Сегодня включение принципов ГД ООН в корпоративную систему и публичное подтверждение их реализации на практике являются широко признанными показателями ответственной деловой практики и добросовестной репутации, необходимыми для выхода на международный уровень деятельности и партнерства.

К 15-летию ГД ООН, которое прошло под девизом «Бизнес как сила добра», агентство DNV GL провело исследование, чтобы показать, каким положительным изменениям способствовал Глобальный договор и какое место он занял в истории современного движения за корпоративную устойчивость.

В качестве главных заслуг ГД ООН отмечены:

историческая роль в формировании стандартов и достижении прогресса в распространении ценностей устойчивого развития,
– активизация глобального движения ответственного бизнеса,
– содействие изменению понятия «бизнес-лидерство»,
– расширение аспектов корпоративной ответственности, переход на уровень управления устойчивым развитием – перемещение ответственности на более высокий уровень управления,
– обязательность нефинансовой отчетности стимулирует компании действовать, прозрачность и глобальная публичность повышают шансы на достоверность и добросовестность,
– роль в распространении лучших практик и опыта,
– обширная библиотека руководств, инструкций, материалов,
– содействие формированию площадок для диалога заинтересованных сторон, партнерств, коллективных действий.

Глобальный договор стал инкубатором идей и первопроходцем там, где речь идет об устойчивости бизнеса, расширении понятия его ответственности и распространении этих идей в глобальном масштабе. Глобальный договор сыграл важную роль в изменении современных бизнес-стратегий, и эта роль в будущем будет только усиливаться.

Преимущества участия
Присоединяясь к национальной сети ГД ООН в России, вы становитесь частью лидерского сообщества в области корпоративной ответственности и устойчивого развития.